Custom-Made Plaid Lampshades

DIY, Fabric, Lamp
Self-adhesive lampshade

Self-adhesive lampshade

Plaid is back in style and I love it! Plaid is making a resurgence on the fashion scene and if you’ve walked into Target recently, you’ve also noticed that plaid is in style for home décor. I had some lamp bases in need of new shades and I knew that a plaid lampshade was the way to go.

Step 1- Use provided stencil to cut fabric

Step 1- Use provided stencil to cut fabric

The plaid lampshades I found online from various retailers were pricey. I knew I would be much better off creating my own. I purchased self-adhesive lampshades at Hobby Lobby. The same lampshades are available on Amazon, but are much more expensive. When I told Fanny that I wanted to make plaid lampshades, she thought I was crazy, but provided her blessing only if I purchased flannel fabric.

Step 3- Remove adhesive layer

Step 3- Remove adhesive layer

  1. Remove paper stencil from lampshade and place over 1/3 yard fabric.
  2. Cut fabric leaving one inch extra around the edge (for rounding over lampshade).
  3. Remove adhesive layer from lampshade and stick fabric to the lampshade.
  4. Step 4- Glue the fabric on the inside of the lampshade

    Step 4- Glue the fabric on the inside of the lampshade

    Apply a layer of hot glue on the inside top rim of the shade to adhere the fabric. Repeat at the bottom on the lampshade.

  5. Ribbon can be used to hide the edge of the fabric on the inside of the lampshade.

    Step 5- Ribbon to cover cut edge of fabric

    Step 5- Ribbon to cover cut edge of fabric

The process of creating a custom lampshade was easy (I did have Fanny’s help) and the result is truly spectacular. The final lampshades look better on the bases than I could have imagined. Now I’m dreaming of camel check Burberry plaid lampshade.

Classic red flannel mini lamp

Classic red flannel mini lamp

Leave a Reply

