Vintage Storage Bench

Facelift, Paint, Reclaimed
The original Craigslist find

The original Craigslist find

I found this adorable mini dresser/nightstand/storage bench on Craigslist. I was attracted to the curve of the feet and the knobs. According to the brass plate located inside the drawer, the furniture was built by Davis Cabinet Company.  Through research on the company website, I was able to determine that the piece was built August ‘72.

Original black speckled finish

Original black speckled finish

In 1972, Davis Cabinet Company used a quality varnish to seal the finish of their furniture. This nightstand/storage bench had a beautiful base color stain, but it was finished with a black speckled effect and sealed (I’m mean, really sealed). I wasted my sweet, precious time sanding to remove the speckled finish from the drawers. In hindsight, I should have used the varnish striper in the garage, Zinsser Power Stripper, prior to sanding.

Manufacturer production date stamp

Manufacturer production date stamp

Fortunately for me, I had no intentions of sanding the entire bench. On the top and side, I applied Sherwin Williams primer, hand sanded with 220-grit, wiped off the dust, and primed again. I envisioned a color-block design with classic colors, so I applied two coats of a dreamy cream paint.

Davis Cabinet Company brand plate

Davis Cabinet Company brand plate

The front of storage bench and the drawers, after sanded smooth, were stained with Minwax ebony. The dark ebony complimented the existing hardware and provided a beautiful contrast against the cream paint.

Perfect height to put your boots on

Perfect height to put your boots on

I have no idea what the original purpose was of this piece of furniture (I can only find one online), but I think it looks amazing in a front entry. The height is ideal to sit down and put on your shoes. A cushion will be the pièce de résistance.

Leave a Reply

