Pottery Barn Gold Hack

DIY, Pottery Barn, Silhouette
Pottery Barn Gold Feather Art

Pottery Barn Gold Feather Art

Growing up, I loved checking the mailbox. I couldn’t wait to see if a new issue of Highlights magazine arrived or if my grandma had sent me a letter. Rae and Rose now take turns checking the mailbox and I still have child-like excitement looking for “my” magazines to arrive: Southern Living and the Pottery Barn catalog. I think most items in the Pottery Barn catalog are over-priced, but I enjoy perusing for style inspiration.

Oh, I wish the metallic finish would have sparkled in the picture

Oh, I wish the metallic finish would have sparkled in the picture

I was recently looking at PotteryBarn.com and saw some wall art that I thought was beautiful, but I almost fell over when I saw the price. The Gold Leaf Bird is a 23″ square giclee print with hand-applied gold leaf with a selling pricing of $299. Ouch. I also liked the look of the Gold Leaf Feather that is 19.5″ x 34.5″, similarly a giclee print with hand-applied gold leaf. The Gold Leaf Feather retails for $399. Double ouch.  I decided it was time for a Pottery Barn hack.

  1. Order black floating frames using Amazon prime. I selected a 12×12 for the bird and 11×14 for the feather.
  2. Use the Silhouette to cut birds on a limb and a feather on gold metallic vinyl by Expression Vinyl
  3. Cut white paper to be the background of each print. For my gold bird, I cut the paper as a 10×10 square to allow the floating frame to show through. I cut the second piece of paper as 11×14 to fill the frame of the feather.
  4. Apply the shiny gold vinyl stickers directly to the white paper. Place it in the frame.
  5. Sit back in satisfaction about how much money I just saved.
Pottery Barn Inspiration and my creation

Pottery Barn Inspiration and my creation

Yes, my prints are smaller than the original Pottery Barn inspiration, but for the price I can handle the slightly smaller size. I can’t wait to see what inspiration I find in the next catalog!

Leave a Reply

