“Patience is bitter, but its fruit is sweet” Aristotle

Art, DIY, Paint

For months I’ve been collecting mirrors at thrift stores. I knew I wanted to use stencils and paint the mirrors, but I didn’t have a vision for the exact design. I finally decided this weekend to start painting mirrors with a winter theme.

Stencil applied- ready to paint

Stencil applied- ready to paint

I created stencils of deer, Christmas lights, poinsettias, and “be merry”. I applied the vinyl stencils to the mirrors and Rose and I began painting with acrylic paint. This is where things started to go wrong; when applying paint to stencils on wood or canvas, I have had success letting the paint dry prior to removing the stencil. When the paint dried on the mirror and I removed the stencil, the paint came right off with the vinyl.

One coat of "frost effect" dabbed on the stencil

One coat of “frost effect” dabbed on the stencil

I was terribly frustrated with the results, but I was not giving up. The next day, Rose and I purchased Martha Stewart’s Frost Etching Effect. The frost etching can be combined with acrylic paint to create a custom colored frosted look. Surely, this would be the ticket. I dabbed away and was feeling optimistic. Once again, I waited for the paint to dry before removing the stencil and the paint came off again. Uggghhhhh. I was starting to wonder if this project was even a good idea because my mess was easily cleaned up with Windex.

Oh no! I let the paint dry before removing the stencil. I'm missing part of the "b" and "e".

Oh no! I let the paint dry before removing the stencil. I’m missing part of the “b” and “e”.

In hindsight, I should have taken the time to read the Frost Etching Effect instructions online as step one. The instructions very clearly indicate that I needed to remove my stencil while the paint was still wet. Duh. That makes sense. The instructions also indicate that the paint will cure in 21 days (i.e. the mirror can be cleaned with Windex and the paint won’t come off).

My 2nd attempt at a painted deer on a mirror.

My 2nd attempt at a painted deer on a mirror. The 3rd time will be a charm.

I am not giving up. I know that I can paint the perfect Holiday mirror. I will do it. And while I’m at it, I’m going to double down and try glass etching with Armour Etch too.

Mom said I’m becoming more like Dad everyday. He doesn’t read directions either. (Note: Mother added this comment when editing and didn’t think I would  notice her commentary.)

Stayed tuned.

Leave a Reply

