Bedside Manners

Facelift, Paint
The original

The original

During Thanksgiving break a few years ago, I was staying at my parents’ house and decided I want to read in bed to relax. My parents had recently purchased new furniture for the guest bedroom and I was excited to cuddle under the blankets and escape into a new book. Then reality hit, they hadn’t yet purchased a bedside table. There was no lamp for ambient light and no place to set my glasses and book when I was finished (they have one now).

Take apart the stand and prime prior to painting

Take apart the stand and prime prior to painting

Prior to that moment, I never realized how much I treasured bedside tables. My attachment to bedside tables has grown worse now that I use my phone as an alarm clock. I feel a responsibility to help educate others about the importance of bedside tables and to help produce attractive bedside tables.

Painted and sealed!

Painted and sealed!

I picked up a 2 ft tall, double-shelf table stand that was in much need of love. Fanny thinks it was originally designed as a plant stand, but I saw potential. I took the table apart prior to sanding and painting. Since my vision was a “fun” bedside table (for the record- bedside tables do not need to match), Fanny helped me select “Into the Green” for the color. We scored by purchasing a sample pint-size container of paint because I was too nervous to commit to a gallon of such a bold color.

Ready for guests!

Ready for guests!

The table makes quite the statement. I placed the table next to Rae’s white bedding and I was blown-away with the dramatic effect. Who says practical things can’t look good too?

Leave a Reply

