Painted Stools (with bold colors!)

Facelift, Paint, Silhouette
Original barstools

Original barstools

Rose requested one-on-one time with me and what better bonding than estate sale shopping. We had quite the adventure driving around town, searching for the best pieces to give new life. I love hearing her ideas and seeing her design style take shape. On this particular shopping trip, Rose was attracted to stools.

Vinyl stencil applied- ready to paint

Vinyl stencil applied- ready to paint

Natural pine is not my favorite finish, but I saw the potential in the short pine bar stools Rose found. I started by sanding away the varnish before I put Rae to work staining. Rae was new to staining furniture and since that day she has asked to mow the lawn instead of staining. Ouch. After the Rust-Oleum American Walnut stain was dry, I applied a round vinyl sticker and painted the top of the stool “blue midnight”. The end result is a beautiful blue top with two circles of the stained wood peaking through. I sealed the stool tops with two coats of polycrylic.

Completed barstools

Completed barstools

Stepping stool sanded

Stepping stool sanded

In addition to the bar stools, Rose selected a small stepping stool. Rose loves purple and it was just her luck that I found purple paint, Rare Wine to be exact, in the basement, left by the previous homeowner. I sanded, but did not stain the stepping stool. I applied a scroll vinyl design directly to the raw wood prior to painting. Similar to the bar stools, I applied two coats of polycrylic to protect the stencil work and paint.

A pop of purple stepping stool

A pop of purple stepping stool

The new stools are striking and full of life. The blue and purple paint offer a fun “pop” of color.  I think Rose and I will have many estate sale shopping trips together in our future.

Leave a Reply

