Youth Group Blessings Board

Barn Wood, Pinterest, Quotes, Reclaimed
Bible verses on canvas

Bible verses on canvas

I believe that God gives us all talents and calls upon us at different times to use them. 1 Peter 4:10 “As each has received a gift, use it to serve one another, as good stewards of God’s varied grace.” I recently was asked to help lead the 8th grade Wednesday night youth group. I was nervous and excited at the same time. The theme of the group is “Every Day God Experiences” and I felt a calling to help the 8th graders, including Rae, acknowledge and see the presence of God in their life.

The 8th grade meeting room is at the beginning stages of a remodel. The walls have been painted, but lack artwork. I knew I could easily paint canvas with bible verses, which I did, but I wanted something more. After reading the lesson plans, reviewing notes from my own prayer classes, and a little Pinterest research, I was compelled to make a Blessing Board.

Staple the twine to create a zig-zag pattern

Staple the twine to create a zig-zag pattern

With the support of our Youth Director, I put Mr. R&R to work constructing a frame for the board. He used reclaimed trim to construct a large frame. The corners were attached with wood glue and re-enforced with staples. Next was my turn to use the staple gun; I stapled twine to the back of the frame to create a random zig-zag pattern. I screwed hooks to the front of the frame to holds bags containing small clothespins and scraps of colorful paper.

This made my heart happy.

This made my heart happy.

The Blessings Board was introduced this past Wednesday. At the end of the night, the 8th graders where asked to write down, anonymously, when they felt the presence of God that day or simply, a blessing of the day. The responses were beautiful and filled my heart. The activity will be repeated each week and I look forward to seeing the blessings of God fill the board.

James 1:17 “Every good and perfect gift is from above”

Blessings Board

Blessings Board

Leave a Reply

