My First Time Using the Silhouette Cutter

Paint, Reclaimed, Silhouette, Spray Paint

Over the past month, I have written about projects (Wedding Anniversary ArtLittle Red Wagon QuoteFence Headboards) created using my Silhouette Cameo, but it dawned on me that I never showed you my first projects. My mom has a Cameo and is able to make stunningly intricate greeting cards and she got Rae hooked on doing the same. I researched the product and learned about all the possibilities, besides cutting cardstock, and I was sold.

I cut a word!

I cut a word!

From reading the Silhouette website and looking on Pinterest, I knew that I wanted to cut vinyl to add a new element to my rustic and refined design. Knowing what I wanted to cut was great, but I had to learn how to do it. Silhouette School was a lifesaver. I downloaded a new font and reduced the character spacing so the letters were touching as if it was truly written in cursive. I played around some more and in the end, I was able to cut and weed (the process of removing the unwanted vinyl) the word “love” as one piece. A permanent vinyl sticker of the word “love” is cute, but it needed a home.

Cabinet door from Habitat Restore

Cabinet door from Habitat Restore

On my first trip to the Habitat Restore, I purchased old small cabinet doors. The trim of the doors added character to the projects as opposed to using plain pine boards and I refuse to paint the black walnut or old barn wood in my garage.

Base layer of paying with vinyl

Base layer of paying with vinyl

I filled the holes from the old handles and applied a base coat of blue spray paint. Once the paint was dry, I stuck “love” right over the blue paint. I then painted the entire piece with gray paint. Once the gray paint was dry, I carefully removed the “love” sticker revealing the blue base color.

Love all around

Love all around

My first Silhouette project was small and simple. I had nothing to lose so I went for it. I learned from the first project and built up my confidence to tackle more projects with vinyl. To date, the most challenging, and rewarding, project has been the Paisley Stenciled Tables.

Leave a Reply

