Mid-Century Modern Style

Entertaining, Facelift, vintage

I thoroughly enjoy visiting Goodwill to look for furniture to refinish. I love the adventure and the thrill of imagining what each piece could be. On a recent weekend, a co-worker texted asking if I would be interested in two old chairs, because if not, they were headed to Goodwill. Score one for me. I got a new project and I didn’t even have to drive to Goodwill.

Before and Aft

Before and After


Original finish work

Original finish work

The chairs are made by the Scandinavia Woodworks Co. in Singapore. Online research indicates that the chairs are teak and it is common that Danish furniture was made in Singapore. The teak was slightly scratched, but painting the wood was out of the question (I’m still in shock with myself on that decision). The upholstery reminded me of a high school guidance counselor’s office and I had no hard feelings about covering it. I found a duck fabric with a design that I can only describe as minimalistic IKEA. I felt it was important that the fabric complement the mid-century design of the chair; a modern day polka dot or chevron would be out of place on these chairs.

Trim accent to cover the new seam

Trim accent to cover the new seam

The original upholstery was stapled tightly in place and was not coming off the seat and back panels. I forged ahead and stapled the new fabric over the existing upholstery. Stapling the seats was easy, but the back panel almost stole all my patience. The back panel is curved and each side had wooden dowels and a screw hole. I very carefully tucked, trimmed, and stapled the sides. Before reattaching the seat and backs to the chair frame, I gently rubbed stain on the frame to cover up the scratches.

60's Lane accent table

60’s Lane accent table

Mid-project, I visited the Omaha Mega Market (an indoor flea market) on a whim. I ran across an end table with legs that perfectly complemented the style of the chair. Again, I had no intention of painting the table, but I had to have it.  More online research revealed that the end table was built in the 60’s by Lane.

You may be wondering how this post has anything to do with rustic and refined décor. Here’s my approach to rustic and refined–combining unique old and new pieces that have character. Would most people create a mid-century modern seating area in a room with barn doors? No, but I’m not most people.

Multiple seating area options

Multiple seating area options

Leave a Reply

