Reclaimed Fence Headboard

Barn Wood, DIY, Silhouette

“Now I lay me down to sleep. I pray the Lord my soul to keep. If I die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to take.”  I have such fond memories of teaching the girls this bedtime prayer.  I loved laying their tiny little bodies in bed and smothering them with hugs and kisses. Some nights, the prayer needed to be restarted multiple times because there were too many giggles. When I say my own bedtime prayers, I thank God that my girls have a safe place to sleep.

Old fence cut to size -- 62" inches for full size

Old fence cut to size — 62″ inches for full size

Mr. R&R’s godson and his family recently moved into a new house. They live hundreds of miles away from us, so tucking them into bed and saying prayers isn’t an option. The next best choice was to make headboards for his godson and brother.  I had reclaimed fence (from the boys’ great-grandfather’s garden) in my garage and I was eager to use the fence as a headboard. A plan was coming together.

Vinyl negative adding to the fence- ready to paint!

Vinyl negative adding to the fence- ready to paint!

The brothers have their own distinct personalities and it was important that their headboards in a shared bedroom reflect their own personalities. I knew that I wanted to stencil a phrase on each fence. Mr. R&R very quickly agreed on “Eat. Sleep. FISH.” and “even SUPERHEROES need sleep”. I printed each phrase on vinyl and adhered the negative to the fence. I used green acrylic paint (to match their bedroom) to paint  the letters. After the paint dried, I carefully removed the vinyl stencil sticker. After three coats of polycrylic, the headboards were complete.

I can’t wait to deliver these headboards (and make one for my godson too!).

Waiting for beds

Waiting for beds

2 thoughts on “Reclaimed Fence Headboard

Leave a Reply

