Chicken Wire Frames

DIY, Holiday, Paint, Photos
Use a staple gun to affix the chicken wire to the back of the frame

Use a staple gun to affix the chicken wire to the back of the frame

Every Christmas, I say I am going to get my dad a sign that says “I was a nerd before being a nerd was cool”. I really must add this to my to-do list. With that same thought in mind, Goodie was making chicken wire frames before making chicken wire frames was cool. Mrs. Keto and I wanted to be cool too.

Frames painted with the wire attached

Frames painted with the wire attached

I gathered a few open frames and painted them in random colors based on extra paint in my garage. Goodie provided us with a huge roll of chicken wire to begin stapling the wire to the backs of the frames. Mrs. Keto and I spent a lovely evening outside stapling away and trimming the wire edges.

Ribbon glued to the back of frame to prevent wire from scratching a wall

Ribbon glued to the back of frame to prevent wire from scratching a wall

Once the wire was stapled to the frames, the real fun started. Mrs. Keto and I busted out our craft supplies to accessory the frames.  Step one was gluing ribbon to the back of the frames to prevent the wire from scratching the wall while the frame is hanging.  We immediately had visions of how to decorate the front each frame. Two frames will be accented with metallics to hold Christmas cards. The burgundy frame with black floral accents and black lace behind the wire is a sexy boudoir jewelry holder. My favorite though is the terra cotta frame with pheasant feather accents. The frame is organic and classy at the same time. I love it!

These frames are ready for some clothes pins and photos!

Chicken wire frames all dresses up

Chicken wire frames all dressed up

Leave a Reply

