Wedding Anniversary Art

Paint, Silhouette, Wedding

A dear friend of mine is getting ready to celebrate her 4th anniversary. It feels like only yesterday that I saw her walk down the aisle looking absolutely stunning (best eye make-up EVER). Her father’s speech was touching, sweet, beautiful, and it brought tears to my eyes. Yes, I have emotions and cry sometimes. I wanted to do something special for her so I decided to use her wedding anniversary as a guinea pig project for me—a wedding date on canvas.

Steps to apply vinyl as a stencil on canvas

Steps to apply vinyl as a stencil on canvas

Printing her wedding date on vinyl was the easy part for me. Well, easy enough. I wish I would have printed the number larger and maybe in a thicker font. The tricky part was evenly spacing the numbers on the canvas. I measured, I marked, I measured some more and I finally felt comfortable to place the vinyl stickers on the white canvas. Spacing is crucial in a project like this.

I recently read on Sugar Bee Crafts that covering the vinyl letters with Mod Podge will prevent paint from seeping under the vinyl and will produce crisp lines. I decided to give it a go. After the Mod Podge was dry, I applied gray acrylic paint to the canvas. I followed directions and waited an hour before applying another coat of paint. I applied three in all. If you are saying to yourself, “how does she find time to do this?”, the answer is multi-tasking. I don’t sit there and watch paint dry; I do house chores.

Wedding date custom sign

Wedding date custom sign

I used my Silhouette hook to remove the vinyl numbers. I was saddened that a few of the lines were not as “crisp” as I had desired.  My solution was to lightly hand sand the entire canvas with 220-grit sandpaper. The light sanding slightly distressed the canvas masking the un-crisp lines. I finished it off with a clear coat spray finish.

Happy Anniversary, Stacey and Joel!

One thought on “Wedding Anniversary Art

Leave a Reply

