Mission Table Facelift Using Vinyl Stencils

DIY, Facelift, Paint, Silhouette
Custom stenciled top end and coffee table

Custom stenciled top end and coffee table

You have probably learned by now that I love going to Goodwill to look for furniture. As the saying goes, one man’s trash is another man’s treasure. I was fortunate enough to score matching Thomasville Impressions coffee and end tables. Why would something so nice be at Goodwill? Water spots. Seriously people, use coasters.

Steps for apply the stencil

Steps for apply the stencil

The coffee and end table are mission-inspired in design so I felt an obligation to stay true to the original traditional design. Painting the pieces a bold color or distressing them would look odd. Mrs. Keto suggested a classic cream paint for the base and I knew her idea was meant to be when I found a classic cream gallon of mistint paint at Lowe’s. HGTV Sherwin Williams Showcase semi-gloss paint looked smooth and dreamy after two coats.

I decided to take a chance on my own abilities and creativity, and so I applied a stencil on both table tops. I chose a paisley stencil that I viewed as classic enough to support the traditional design of the furniture. After sanding the tops, I applied a vinyl stencil cut with my Silhouette Cameo (my new favorite toy!). The end table design contains a tight paisley motif with one paisley teardrop repeated and middle sections of that same paisley cut apart to use as fill-in. Because of the large size of the coffee table, I used two different larger paisley twisted teardrop stencils with a few smaller paisleys used on the end table.

Coffee table transformation

Coffee table transformation

Once the vinyl stencils were in place, I applied Rust-Oleum American Walnut stain. This is my new favorite type of stain–the desired color truly was achieved in one coat as advertised. The moment of truth arrived when I removed the vinyl and my design was revealed. It worked! I applied 5 coats of wipe-on poly to seal both pieces. I appreciate the easy application of wipe-on poly (use a rag, wipe-on, wait 3 hours, lightly hand sand, and repeat). Once again, I need to buy stock in Rust-Oleum.

End table stencil design

End table stencil design

These tables may be my new favorite project to date. In all honesty, the most laborious part of the project was designing the paisley motif for the end table.

3 thoughts on “Mission Table Facelift Using Vinyl Stencils

Leave a Reply

