4th of July Door Hanger

Holiday, Spray Paint

Staple burlap to create a loop for hanging

Staple burlap to create a loop for hanging

My mother has taught me so much over the years: how to bathe a newborn, how to bake, the beauty of over-lighting a Christmas tree, and the importance of hanging a wreath for the season. Most people can get into the spirit of having a wreath for the 4 seasons of the year, but my mom has a different definition of season. “Valentine’s Day” is a season deserving its own wreath. The same goes for St. Patrick’s Day. I counted her wreaths during my last visit and I believe she can switch out wreaths every two weeks without duplication for the year. I am on my way. My latest new seasonal door hanger is for the 4th of July.

Randomly bunched lace

Randomly bunched lace

I am less of traditionalist than my mother when it comes to door wreaths. I don’t feel the need to add silk flowers to all wreaths. I think it is okay for the grapevine wreath base to be exposed. And sometimes when I feel sassy, like this summer, I didn’t even use a round wreath but an old picture frame instead. Scandalous.

Dollar Tree decoration placed on the frame corner with hot glue

Dollar Tree decoration placed on the frame corner with hot glue

I reframed a horse picture in Rae’s room and as I looked at the old frame I realized that I could make something with that. I headed to the garage and sprayed the frame blue. (I am starting to gather quite the rainbow of spray paint colors). I used a blue base for my door hanger since my front door is red. Next, I ran to Dollar Tree to find a few patriotic decorations to glue on my frame. I purchased a ring with dangling jingle bells and a red glitter star.

Don't forget to glue on the stars

Don’t forget to glue on the stars

My mother also taught me the importance of having craft supplies on hand for when the mood strikes you. I rummaged through my supplies and found lace ribbon and also red chevron burlap. I stapled the burlap to the back of the frame to make a loop for hanging the frame. I bunched up the lace and used the hot glue gun to affix the lace to the upper left hand corner. I placed the ring with bells over that same corner and glued away. I glued the red glitter stars in the opposite lower corner. I felt the white lace and jingle bells hanging down looked lonely and a little too “90’s style country” so I added long pieces of the red chevron burlap behind the lace for a more modern rustic feel.  (FYI-I love burlap.)

My favorite part of my 4th of July door hanger is that it cost me just $2, plus that stinkin’ sales tax. With prices like this, I can afford to switch out a wreath every two weeks.

Truth be told, my favorite wreaths are the ones that my mom makes for me. Love you Mom.

God Bless America!

God Bless America!

Leave a Reply

