Use coasters…or have me refinish Goodwill furniture

DIY, Facelift
Learn to use coasters!

Learn to use coasters!

While growing up, I remember my parents having the same solid oak end tables and coffee tables for 20 years (not exaggerating).  I suspect that my dad heavily coated the pieces with polyurethane so no damage could be done, yet coasters were still a requirement. My sister now has the coffee table, in its original condition, and still requires coasters. Here is my PSA of the day—use coasters! Goodwill is full of beautiful end tables and coffee tables with water rings, damaged by wet drinking glasses.  If you don’t use my coaster advice, I will say “thank you”. I will continue to purchase your furniture at a deeply discounted price and give it new life.I felt as if I had won the lottery when Rae and I found a matching end table and coffee table at Goodwill ($30 for the set!). The water ring damage did not deter me. The table tops were gorgeous and I fell in love with the oval tops and shapely legs. I quickly went to work painting the legs white and replacing the drawer knob on the end table. Hobby Lobby has adorable fun knobs (only purchase when they are 50% off).

Striping the finish and following directions

Striping the finish and following directions

Mr. R&R was eager to test out a new finish stripper, as opposed to sanding the top, so I let him go to town (in a well ventilated area wearing gloves). I have no idea how long the process took because I was running errands. When I returned, I lightly sanded the top as a precaution to remove any residual stripper and to create a clean surface for staining.I applied ebony stain three times to the table tops. I really wanted a sharp contrast between a dark top and lighter legs. While the can of stain was open, I couldn’t help myself and I wiped a little bit of ebony stain on the legs for a subtle distressed feel.

Ebony stain with poly finish

Ebony stain with poly finish

Since I don’t want future water rings on these tables, I applied a wipe-on poly. Mr. R&R left town and told me to use 220 grit to sand the poly in between coats. He did NOT however clarify that I should hand sand between coats and not use the electric sander. Oops. I saw the error of my ways after sanding the first coat because my stain was suddenly not as deep. I tell myself that I added character to the pieces. I applied four more coats of wipe-poly and hand sanded after each of those coats.The end table and coffee table are finished. Water rings have disappeared. I better see coasters used on these tables.

If you would like this tables in your home, and you promise to use coasters, shoot me email, RusticRaeAndRose@gmail.com.

Ready for a new home

Ready for a new home

5 thoughts on “Use coasters…or have me refinish Goodwill furniture

  1. I wasn’t sure about the colors when you told me about this on the phone, but I like it. I also like the mason jar.

    Like

    1. Zinsser Strip Fast. Mr. R&R wanted to try it out since these tables had a varnish finish. He was practicing for a future project- an antique dental cabinet with an original shellac finish covered in paint.

      I’m glad you liked the color contrast. As you can see in the comment above, even my sister was nervous. I like the look of color blocking, but I wanted more traditional colors.

      Like

Leave a Reply

