Covering an Electrical Panel

DIY, Facelift, Pallet
All wrong! Faux brick paneling nailed to faux wood paneling to cover the electrical box.

All wrong! Faux brick paneling nailed to faux wood paneling to cover the electrical box.

Have you ever searched on Pinterest  for ways to cover an electrical panel? The search results are numerous, cute, and creative. I suspect my previous home owners did not consult Pinterest. I also suspect their definition of “cover” is different than mine. I say they “hid” the electrical panel, but that may not be the best word choice since a section of brick panel, the size of an electrical panel, placed over wooden paneling is not very discreet. I continue to use the word “hid” though because the brick paneling was nailed in place. On one of my early morning Saturdays, I ventured into the garage and selected pieces of pallet wood to create a barn door to cover the electrical panel without hindering access. When Mr. R&R woke up and asked, “what should I make today?”, I very quickly responded that I had a project ready and waiting for him. In hindsight, I believe it was a rhetorical question.

Barn door angled support pieces with hinges for easy access to the electrical box

Barn door angled support pieces with hinges for easy access to the electrical box

I played the role of garage assistant and placed horizontal support pieces on the underside of the vertical pallet wood door. As assistant, I watched Mr. R&R use the nail gun to make easy work of attaching the door. For a real barn door feel, he cut an angled piece for additional support. After a trip to Lowe’s to purchase hinges, the door was ready for assembly.

I would love to spin a tale of easy installation of the barn door, but it will be a tall tales full of untruths. The vertical 2”x4” was not straight, yet the electrical box and wood paneling were level, making it difficult, to put it nicely, to secure the hinges and hang the door. Mr. R&R was patient compared to my impatience (I thought it was going to be a quick and easy project) and finally had a level barn door covering the electrical panel.

The reclaimed wood door looks great and it practical. Now, about the faux wood paneling...

The reclaimed wood door looks great and is practical. Now, about the faux wood paneling…

Stayed tuned—the electrical panel is in the cigar room that is currently undergoing a facelift.

One thought on “Covering an Electrical Panel

Leave a Reply

