Polly Wants a TV Stand

DIY, Entertaining, Facelift

 

Dresser Before and Beautiful Distressed TV Stand After

While celebrating Cinco de Mayo with enchiladas at the home of Polly Lolly, she confessed that she desperately wanted a restored piece of furniture as a TV stand. Three days later, Mr. R&R texted me a dresser that he found at a garage sale.  It was big (71”) and perfect for Polly Lolly! I immediately went to work transforming this veneer hunk into a beauty.

The rough looking starting point.

The rough looking starting point.

I must state for the record that I am not a fan of veneer. In my opinion, the rehab treatment process is tedious.  I began the project by sanding with a 220 grit and applying primer. Next day, 220 sanding and primer again. I chose not to sand again after my second coat of primer because of the type of paint I was using to finish the dresser. Instead of the typical ole wall paint, I selected Sherwin Williams ProClassic  because it has a durable enamel finish (it is designed for doors and trim). Two coats of paint and two days later, I was done painting. 

Sanded, primed, sanded, and primed

Sanded, primed, sanded, and primed


Two coats of white paint

Two coats of white paint

Polly Lolly requested a “distressed” piece of furniture. A quick search on Pinterest will reveal multiple options for distressing furniture. My “client” selected simple sanding along the edges (the easiest of all distressing). To distress the edges, I put the drawers back in the dresser and used a rougher 120 grit. This step is freeing and also stressful because it is not uniform. Go with your gut and have fun destroying the paint you just applied. For further contrast and visual interest, I dipped a Q-tip in stain and applied to some of the exposed wood. Again, it was not a uniform application and I had to stand back many times to look at  it. 

Done and distressed!

Done and distressed!


New knobs and handles.

New knobs and handles.

I replaced the handles and did not reinstall the center cabinet door. How could I? There was already a shelf inside that is perfect for a cable box or DVD player. The drawers are ideal for movie storage and photo albums.

I am proud to have helped the dresser transform from ugly duckling to a swan. I hope Polly Lolly and her family enjoy it for years to come. 

The finished project in place!

The finished project in place!

Leave a Reply

