Patriotic Silverware

DIY, Facelift, Paint, Pinterest

Memorial Day is the unofficial kick-off of summer, but more importantly, a day to remember and honor Americans who have died while serving our country.  Similar to other summer Federal Holidays,  4th of July and Labor Day, most Memorial Day parties are adorned in red, white, and blue. In addition to hanging your American flag, bring these colors to your kitchen, or backyard party, with painted patriotic silverware.

Painters tape to mark the line

Painters tape to mark the line

I had an impromptu visit from Goodie the other night and to show my gratitude for her visit, I handed her a pile of garage sale silverware and painters tape. While I made dinner, she made easy work of applying the tape. To create uniform lines of where the paint would be applied, Goodie used a natural indention in the cutlery to serve as her mark to apply the tape.

Little helping hands applying paint

After dinner, Rose and Little Girl Goodie were delighted to assist in the painting of the silverware. Each girl, and Goodie too, was given a bowl with a specific color of acrylic paint, a foam brush, and a set number of pieces to paint. Since we were painting a set of 8 (not easily divided by 3), we chose to paint 3 red, 3 blue, and 2 white.  Glasses were arranged in the middle of the table over newspaper to hold the utensils while drying. The little girls were ready to play after one coat of paint and shockingly, as the one person not painting, I was covered in more paint than the little girls.

Oops! Painted the wrong end.

Oops! Painted the wrong end.

Waiting for paint to dry.

Over the next day, I applied three more coats of paint.  I was beginning to regret not using spray paint for easier application, but I already owned red, white, and blue acrylic paint before I started this project. One blogger suggested using poly as a sealant and another suggested using acrylic sealer. I owned neither and took a chance on Valspar clear lacquer spray paint. 

Clear lacquer paint for a protective finish.

The jury is still out as to whether these pieces will survive the dishwasher.  I was unable to find conclusive evidence during my online research.  I did apply heat from the hairdryer to help “cure” the paints. After I test out my patriotic silverware this holiday weekend, I’ll let you know how they fared in the dishwasher. (Note: I put a fork in the dishwasher last night and the paint was still on this morning, but I recommend hand-washing).

God Bless America. 

Leave a Reply

