Southern Porch Inspiration

Facelift, Spray Paint

I spent my formative years living in Virginia and as the years have passed, I have not lost my love for front porches, grits, and Southern Living Magazine.  The May issue features front porch makeovers and new ideas for decorating with the color blue.  Southern porches have a long history of being painted blue (the story behind blue porch ceilings). I no longer live in the South and I’m not ready to paint my porch ceiling, but I am game for adding a blue facelift to my front porch.

Porch before and after

Porch before and after

Mr. R&R and I purchased Adirondack style chairs last fall (similar styles available on Hayneedle.com) so I wanted to keep them as the staple of my spring/summer porch design. I took a trip to At Home over lunch and picked up a 5×8 blue with tan trim outdoor rug (to hide last fall’s painted pumpkin mess), a side table, outdoor pillows (this standard size was only $9.99), and an accent lantern with battery candle.

Shopping stash

Shopping stash

The design of the metal legs, and price, of the accent table intrigued me, but it was black and that was not going to work. I applied a quick coat of Rust-oleum navy blue paint to make the table flow with my overall design. I chose Rust-oleum because I was painting a lower quality metal that will be outdoors.  The lantern was cute as is, but it’s me and I wanted an accent piece that would “pop”. I sprayed the lantern metallic gold and topped it off Rust-oleum clear finish for protection. I also added clear rubber feet to the lantern to prevent scratching the top of the accent table.

The after porch is more refined than rustic, but I don’t think anyone will complain after sitting on this porch with sweet tea or a mint julep (or Miller Lite in my case).

Southern Inspired Porch

Southern Inspired Porch

Leave a Reply

