Rise and Shine

DIY, Facelift, Paint

I have reached an age where I can no longer sleep in on Saturday mornings. This past Saturday, I was wide awake and ready to start the day at 5:30 (why can’t I be that like on work days?). I went in mom-multi-task mode and started a load of laundry, made a cup of coffee, and headed to the garage to get some work done while the rest of the house was blissfully asleep.

Stool Before and After

Stool Before and After

I wheeled my work bench outside to begin sanding the stool and watch the sun rise. (Mr. R&R made me a work bench on wheels for my own projects.) Saturday’s early morning project was a stool that had a few nicks and needed a little facelift. The electric sander worked well for most of the stool, but I did need to hand sand the detail work of the spindles. The built-in primer paint was a neutral gray/taupe (depending on the lighting) mis-tint “oops” color that I picked up for $3 a gallon. Time to let the first coat dry, switch out laundry, and refill my coffee.

New fabric is well stapled

New fabric is well stapled

While the second coat of paint dried, I tackled the seat of the stool. When I removed the existing fabric, I was surprised to learn that the padding was straw wrapped in cotton. I freaked out for a moment before completing a Google search to learn that straw is commonly used and reused for padding. (Thank you to Lefevre Upholstery for the stuffing lesson.) Since my straw was still in good condition and supported by a piece of wood, I made the decision to reuse it. My favorite part of this project was using the staple gun powered by the air compressor to adhere my replacement fabric to the seat. (I want to staple everything now!) Time to switch out laundry again and get even more coffee.

New dressing stool

New dressing stool

I breathed a sigh of relief when the seat easily screwed back into the stool. The paint color nicely accents the neutral ring in the medallion design on the fabric. The dressing stool is now a classic piece to adorn my closet.

One thought on “Rise and Shine

Leave a Reply

