Sunday Funday…Shared on a Monday

DIY, Facelift, Paint
Before and After

Before and After

My bestie, Goodie, was excited that Mr. Rae and Rose rescued two milk cans from the farm (I still have a milk can looking for a good home). Goodie was gifted a milk can recently and needed a little assistance on executing the refinement of this rustic treasure.  She took to Pinterest in search of inspiration and presented me with her goal: paint the milk can and add a name.

I had a plan in mind, but I wanted to practice on my own milk can before I ruined Goodie’s milk can.  I used Barkeeper’s powder to clean the years of dirt and grime off the can (it was really gross). The next step was to apply 2 coats of flat white Rustoleum.

Base paint complete

Base paint complete

Rustoleum is oil-based, so don’t forget to use paint thinner to clean your brush. While my white paint was drying, I sized and printed my “R&R” logo on regular ol’ computer paper.  I layered my logo on-top of the black graphite transfer paper and used painters tape to affix the logo to my dry milk can.

Applying the logo

Applying the logo

I traced my logo using a nail punch thing I found on Mr. R&R’s work bench.  The official graphite paper instructions say to use a stylus. When I removed the paper and graphite paper, my logo magically appeared on the milk can. Success!

Making progress- graphite stencil

Making progress- graphite stencil

I took a little inspiration from Happy Shoe Day and chose a Marsala inspired accent color (See her 12/4/14 Facebook post – Marsala is the Pantone Color of the Year 2015). I found a quart of mistint Marsala paint on clearance at Lowe’s for the bargain price of $1. I used a fine tiny little paint brush and did my best to color in the lines made by the graphite paper.  (Mr. R&R was pleased that I added color to our logo for the new Facebook cover photo).

Goodie Before and After

Goodie Before and After

I walked Goodie through the same steps for her milk can. Since she used black Rustoleum paint, the typical black graphite paper transfer would not appear on the milk can. Lucky for her, I found white graphite paper.  Goodie is quite the perfectionist and it shows in the quality of her new milk can.

Even city girls like me can appreciate milk cans.

Note to self: Apply sunscreen when working outdoors all day.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Funday…Shared on a Monday

Leave a Reply

